DATING MYSELF BUCKET LIST

jackie-7

I am an only child so I was pretty independent growing up. I’m quite comfortable doing alone many things most of my friends wouldn’t.

I remember heading to the student center in between classes once and finding a friend quickly rushing to the door with a bag of McDonalds. After doing the hey-how-are-you-me-too convo I asked if she was running late to class. She told me she was rushing to her dorm because she would be embarrassed if someone saw her eating alone. I was so shocked that eating alone is actually something people are uncomfortable with.

I grew up with a mother who loved to shop so I would spend a lot of time at the shopping mall. While my mom was off checking out deals at Nordstrom, I would be enjoying my book while eating in the food court or cafe. I enjoy alone time. I always have. It’s always fun to catch up with an old friend occasionally, but I need a balance between hanging with friends and being by myself.

I feel as people grow older they need to be able to be more comfortable being alone with themselves. Of course social relationships are necessary.

Did you ever play Sims? Every time I think of needing social relationships I think of the meter for “social” going down and if it went too low (red) your Sim would get depressed or possibly die. You see, I’m the type of person who, in real life, gets enough “social points” to make my meter green and I’m satisfied. I don’t feel the need to always have my “social” meter maxed. needs-panel-04-029I enjoy hanging out with my friends but I really enjoy having alone time every now and then as well.

With all this being said, even I am not 100% comfortable with or made time to do every activity alone. I like lists and setting goals, therefore, I have compiled a bucket list of date-ish activities I’d like to do with myself, hopefully within the next year.

1. Try out 5 new coffee shops in my city

2. Go for a run on a pretty day in a pretty place

3. Watch the sun set or rise

3. Have a classic picnic with a cute basket, blanket, fruit and a good book

4. Go to a concert (this one scares me the most)

5. Go on a mini-road trip

6. Go to a local touristy site

7. Take a cooking class

8. Take an exercise class (yoga, pilates, zumba, etc.)

9. Have a nice romantic dinner for 1

10. Take a painting class

11. Check out an old bookstore

12. Buy myself some pretty flowers

Happy dating!

xx – k.s.

6 thoughts on “DATING MYSELF BUCKET LIST

  1. Feather Lessom says:

    I am an only child too and I can relate with it a lot! Sometimes I just need a break from people when I’m around them 24/7. I think only childs are more comfortable doing things alone in general because they somewhat grew up that way. Great post! (Going to add your bucket list to mine if that’s okay)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

