PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER

133859c9fdd18dae34d35f91af74560a-the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-1469843470

“So, I guess we are who we are for a lot of reasons. And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.”
― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower yesterday. It was a super quick and easy read but one of those books you’ll carry with you for a long time. The words are extremely simple, however, to truly understand it, you must be able to read between the lines.

At first it was a bit weird to read. I expected it to be written more as a novel, however, it is written as a diary by an oversensitive freshman in high school, Charlie. Initially, I was a bit annoyed with Charlie’s total honesty, sensitivity and “pureness” – he was shown extremely innocent at the beginning. However, as the book progressed, readers saw as Charlie’s vocabulary increased, he become more comfortable with himself and gained friends, how he opened up more about his feelings, and offered more insight into his brain. It truly made me feel as I though I was back in high school watching Charlie grow up.

What I loved most about the book is Charlie’s stream of conscious style of writing. He writes as he thinks – sometimes messy, sometimes hilarious, sometimes heartbreaking, and often times thought-provoking.

I noted down many of the quotes I loved from the book. Here are some of my favorites:

  • “So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.”
  • “It’s much easier to not know things sometimes. Things change and friends leave. And life doesn’t stop for anybody.”
  • “This moment will just be another story someday.”
  • “I am very interested and fascinated how everyone loves each other, but no one really likes each other.”
  • “I would die for you. But I won’t live for you.”
  • “I think that if I ever have kids, and they are upset, I won’t tell them that people are starving in China or anything like that because it wouldn’t change the fact that they were upset. And even if somebody else has it much worse, that doesn’t really change the fact that you have what you have.”
  • “There’s nothing like deep breaths after laughing that hard. Nothing in the world like a sore stomach for the right reasons.”
  • “We accept the love we think we deserve.”
  • “And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.”
  • “Try to be a filter, not a sponge.”
  • “If you care about somebody, you should want them to be happy. Even if you wind up being left out.”
  • “there is this one photograph… that is just beautiful. it would be impossible to describe how beautiful it is, but i’ll try. if you listen to the song “asleep,” and you think about those pretty weather days that make you remember things, and you think about the prettiest eyes you’ve known, and you cry and the person holds you back, then i think you will see the photograph. ”
  • “He’s my whole world.”
    “Don’t ever say that about anyone again. Not even me.”
  • “But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things.”

I’m gonna stop myself before I start quoting the whole book, haha.

If you love reading affective coming-of-age novels, I would definitely recommend the read. If you don’t reading, there’s also a film adaption starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, Ezra Miller and Nina Dobrev!

With love,

xx – k.s.

Leave a Reply

